Skip to content
AI Protection
Free
Start with what’s already out there

We’ll show you your exposure before you pay anything.

Run a free scan

Run free scans

Data broker scan See which data brokers list your personal info All free tools
Family Safe Phrase

The card families use to shut down voice-clone calls.

Get the card

Breaches we’re tracking

What was exposed in each one, and what to do next.

All tracked breaches
No letter, but worried?

Enter your email and we’ll tell you which breaches include you.

Check my email
Scams in your state

The local patterns, the agencies to call, and printable posters.

Pick your state
Data Breach / LHC Group · Updated September 9, 2026 Independent coverage, not a communication from LHC Group

LHC Group Data Breach: What Happened and What You Should Do

LHC Group disclosed a data breach affecting 6,602+ (WA verified) people. Here's what is currently known about the incident, what information may have been exposed, and steps you can consider taking.

Contained / notifications underway Sources listed below
Breach snapshotUpdated September 9, 2026
Company
LHC Group
People affected
6,602+ (WA verified)

LHC's substitute website notice and consumer letter do not publish a nationwide total. Washington AG lists 6,602 WA residents. ClaimDepot cites Texas AG (~16,885 TX) and Massachusetts OCABR (~4,812 MA). Almeida Law Group attributes 162,578 total persons affected to Texas AG report BR-0005312 (Sept. 4, 2026). This page does not treat 162,578 as confirmed without the underlying Texas AG extract, and notes the conflict with state-only figures.

Incident date
April 7–15, 2026
Discovered
April 7, 2026
Disclosed
September 3–4, 2026
Information exposed
Name, Physical address, Date of birth, Health information, Insurance information, Government identification · possibly social security number, financial information
Status
Contained / notifications underway

LHC says it disabled the compromised account, enhanced authentication and monitoring, notified the FBI, and began mailing notices on September 4, 2026, with two years of complimentary IDX credit monitoring and identity protection (enrollment deadline December 4, 2026).

What happened in the LHC Group breach?

How the attacker got in

Vishing against an LHC employee leading to stolen credentials used against an unnamed third-party vendor platform that supported home-health referral, care-coordination, and clinical workflow functions, per LHC's notice.

Timeline of what is known

  1. 01April 7–15, 2026Unauthorized access
  2. 02April 7, 2026Breach discovered
  3. 03September 3–4, 2026Breach disclosed publicly
  4. 04September 4, 2026Affected individuals notified

Dates come from the sources listed at the bottom of this page. Separate events are kept separate; where a date has not been disclosed, it says so.

What information was exposed?

The categories below come from LHC Group's disclosure and the sources listed on this page. Each is labeled by what the evidence supports. Categories not mentioned in any source are not listed, even if they are common in similar breaches.

Exposed May have been exposed Access not confirmed

Name

Full names, per company notice.

Exposed

Physical address

Exposed

Date of birth

Dates of birth and demographics.

Exposed

Social Security number

Social Security numbers in limited instances, per company notice.

May have been exposed

Health information

Clinical summaries, treatment plans, diagnosis codes, dates of service, physician/provider information (PHI).

Exposed

Insurance information

Health insurance policy names, numbers, and plan information.

Exposed

Government identification

Medicare and Medicaid ID numbers, per company notice.

Exposed

Financial information

Financial information in limited instances, per company notice.

May have been exposed

Why this information matters

The risks below are the ones associated with the categories of information involved in this breach. This describes how exposed information can be used in general. It does not state that any of this has happened with data from this incident.

Information from one breach can sometimes be combined with information from other breaches or public sources. A name and email address on their own are limited. Paired with a date of birth from one leak and an address from a people-search site, they become enough to answer a security question or make a scam call sound informed.

Whether the data from this breach has been sold, shared, or used is not known unless a source on this page says so. Where that is documented, it appears in the "What happened" section above.

If you were affected, consider doing these things now

Practical steps for this breach, in rough order of priority. None of these require buying anything. Monitoring services, including ours, are one option among several.

  1. 01Follow the instructions in the LHC Group notice if you received one, including IDX enrollment before December 4, 2026.
  2. 02Watch for phishing that references LHC Group, your home health or hospice provider, Optum/UnitedHealth, Medicare, or this breach.
  3. 03Verify any call or email claiming to be from LHC by using 1-866-200-0905 from your written notice or another number you already have.
  4. 04Because Social Security numbers may be involved in limited instances, consider a credit freeze with each of the three major credit bureaus.
  5. 05Review Explanation of Benefits statements, medical bills, and health-insurance accounts for services you did not receive.
  6. 06Check financial accounts and credit reports for activity you do not recognize.
  7. 07Enroll in the complimentary IDX monitoring offered in your notice if eligible.
  8. 08Consider a personal information monitoring service.

AI Protection

Monitoring, alerts, and recovery help for what comes after a breach.

A breach puts information you can't take back into circulation. AI Protection watches for it being misused, alerts you when something changes, and helps you recover if something goes wrong. It cannot undo the breach or retrieve data an attacker already holds.

Get AI Protection Plans from $7 per month. Cancel anytime.

How one breach can contribute to a larger exposure footprint

A possible risk pattern, not a description of this incident. Each step is something that can happen after a breach. Nothing here states that it has happened with data from this incident.

Illustrative pattern
  1. Step 1

    One breach

    A single company's records are accessed without authorization.

  2. Step 2

    Personal information is exposed

    Some categories can be changed afterward. Others, like a name or date of birth, can't.

  3. Step 3

    It may remain accessible

    Copies of breached data can persist well beyond the original incident.

  4. Step 4

    Sources can be combined

    Fragments from different breaches and public sources may be assembled into a fuller profile.

  5. Step 5

    More targeted attempts

    A fuller profile can make fraud, impersonation, phishing, or social engineering attempts more convincing.

A breach is an event. Exposure can last longer.

A password can be reset and a card reissued. Some information can't be replaced, and that is the part that stays useful to someone attempting fraud later. This does not mean fraud will occur. It means the risk does not close when the news cycle does.

Involved in this breach and hard to change

NameExposed
Physical addressExposed
Date of birthExposed
Health informationExposed
Government identificationExposed
Social Security numberMay have been exposed

What LHC Group has done so far

Only actions the company has announced or that are documented in the sources below. If something you'd expect to see isn't here, it hasn't been announced as of the last update.

Sources

Primary sources first: company disclosures, regulator and attorney general filings, SEC filings, court documents. News reporting is listed as secondary. Where reports conflict, the conflict is noted in the "What happened" section rather than resolved silently.

Primary 01
LHC Group, Inc. · September 3, 2026
Primary 02
Washington State Attorney General / LHC Group · September 4, 2026
Primary 03
Washington State Attorney General · September 4, 2026
Primary 04
ClassAction.org media · September 2026
Secondary 07
WFSB · September 4, 2026

Last updated September 9, 2026 · First published September 9, 2026

Questions about the LHC Group breach

LHC Group, Inc., a national home health and hospice provider headquartered in Lafayette, Louisiana (and part of UnitedHealth Group's Optum), posted a substitute notice and mailed Notices of Data Breach dated around September 3–4, 2026. Washington published the company-to-AG letter and consumer notice; secondary reporting also cites Texas and Massachusetts filings on September 4.

According to the sources on this page, patients whose count is not stated in LHC's public website notice; verified state counts include 6,602 Washington residents (WA AG). Secondary sources cite ~16,885 Texas and ~4,812 Massachusetts residents, and one secondary report attributes ~162,578 total individuals to a Texas AG filing (BR-0005312) — see conflicts. LHC's substitute website notice and consumer letter do not publish a nationwide total. Washington AG lists 6,602 WA residents. ClaimDepot cites Texas AG (~16,885 TX) and Massachusetts OCABR (~4,812 MA). Almeida Law Group attributes 162,578 total persons affected to Texas AG report BR-0005312 (Sept. 4, 2026). This page does not treat 162,578 as confirmed without the underlying Texas AG extract, and notes the conflict with state-only figures.

Unauthorized access is reported to have occurred April 7–15, 2026.

The company says it discovered the breach on April 7, 2026. It disclosed the incident publicly on September 3–4, 2026.

Confirmed exposed: Name, Physical address, Date of birth, Health information, Insurance information, Government identification. May have been exposed: Social Security number, Financial information. See the full list with status labels above.

The most reliable way is a notice from LHC Group itself. First-class mail notices commencing September 4, 2026 (HIPAA); substitute website notice dated ~September 3, 2026. Be cautious of unsolicited messages claiming to confirm you were affected; verify through a contact method you already have.

Start with the checklist above: follow the company's instructions, watch for phishing that references the breach, monitor the affected accounts, and consider a credit freeze if identifiers like a Social Security number are confirmed involved.

First-class mail notices commencing September 4, 2026 (HIPAA); substitute website notice dated ~September 3, 2026.

Yes. Information that can't be changed, such as a name, date of birth, or Social Security number, can remain useful for fraud attempts long after the incident. That is a general risk, not a statement that data from this breach has been used.

AI Protection is an identity protection service that includes identity monitoring, removal of exposed information, restoration support, up to $5m in identity theft insurance per person, social media monitoring. It is independent of LHC Group and cannot reverse a breach.

Take control of what happens next.

Monitoring for misuse of your information, alerts when something changes, and a real person to call if something goes wrong. Plans from $7 per month. Cancel anytime.