Skip to content
AI Protection
Free
Start with what’s already out there

We’ll show you your exposure before you pay anything.

Run a free scan

Run free scans

Data broker scan See which data brokers list your personal info All free tools
Family Safe Phrase

The card families use to shut down voice-clone calls.

Get the card

Breaches we’re tracking

What was exposed in each one, and what to do next.

All tracked breaches
No letter, but worried?

Enter your email and we’ll tell you which breaches include you.

Check my email
Scams in your state

The local patterns, the agencies to call, and printable posters.

Pick your state
Data Breach / Frontline Education · Updated October 28, 2026 Independent coverage, not a communication from Frontline Education

Frontline Education Data Breach: What Happened and What You Should Do

Frontline Education disclosed a data breach affecting an unconfirmed number of people. Here's what is currently known about the incident, what information may have been exposed, and steps you can consider taking.

Notification underway Sources listed below
Breach snapshotUpdated October 28, 2026
Company
Frontline Education
People affected
Undisclosed (2,985 VT)

Frontline has not published a national total. Vermont's table lists 2,985 Vermont residents (October 27, 2026); that is a Vermont-only count, not a national total.

Incident date
Beginning August 14, 2026
Discovered
August 14, 2026
Disclosed
October 26, 2026
Information exposed
Possibly: Name, Social Security number
Status
Notification underway

Letters dated October 26, 2026 with 24 months of complimentary TransUnion credit monitoring; call center 1-800-759-7279.

What happened in the Frontline Education breach?

How the attacker got in

A vulnerability in a third-party software product used by Frontline allowed unauthorized access to a portion of its environment beginning August 14, 2026.

Timeline of what is known

  1. 01Beginning August 14, 2026Unauthorized access
  2. 02August 14, 2026Breach discovered
  3. 03October 26, 2026Breach disclosed publicly
  4. 04October 26, 2026 onwardAffected individuals notified

Dates come from the sources listed at the bottom of this page. Separate events are kept separate; where a date has not been disclosed, it says so.

What information was exposed?

The categories below come from Frontline Education's disclosure and the sources listed on this page. Each is labeled by what the evidence supports. Categories not mentioned in any source are not listed, even if they are common in similar breaches.

Exposed May have been exposed Access not confirmed

Name

Name (Frontline letters are addressed to each person).

May have been exposed

Social Security number

Social Security number (Vermont AG table, 2,985 Vermont residents).

May have been exposed

Employment information

Frontline processes this information for school districts; the specific data elements are a blank field in the sample letter.

Access not confirmed

Why this information matters

The risks below are the ones associated with the categories of information involved in this breach. This describes how exposed information can be used in general. It does not state that any of this has happened with data from this incident.

Information from one breach can sometimes be combined with information from other breaches or public sources. A name and email address on their own are limited. Paired with a date of birth from one leak and an address from a people-search site, they become enough to answer a security question or make a scam call sound informed.

Whether the data from this breach has been sold, shared, or used is not known unless a source on this page says so. Where that is documented, it appears in the "What happened" section above.

If you were affected, consider doing these things now

Practical steps for this breach, in rough order of priority. None of these require buying anything. Monitoring services, including ours, are one option among several.

  1. 01Enroll in the complimentary TransUnion credit monitoring using the code in your letter before January 31, 2027.
  2. 02Consider a free credit freeze with Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion; it blocks new accounts in your name and is free to place and lift.
  3. 03Request an IRS Identity Protection PIN to help stop someone else from filing a tax return with your Social Security number.
  4. 04If you work for a school district, ask your district's HR or payroll office whether it uses Frontline and what records were involved.
  5. 05Treat calls or emails that mention Frontline, your school district, or this incident with suspicion; call back only on 1-800-759-7279 or a number from your letter.

AI Protection

Monitoring, alerts, and recovery help for what comes after a breach.

A breach puts information you can't take back into circulation. AI Protection watches for it being misused, alerts you when something changes, and helps you recover if something goes wrong. It cannot undo the breach or retrieve data an attacker already holds.

Get AI Protection Plans from $7 per month. Cancel anytime.

How one breach can contribute to a larger exposure footprint

A possible risk pattern, not a description of this incident. Each step is something that can happen after a breach. Nothing here states that it has happened with data from this incident.

Illustrative pattern
  1. Step 1

    One breach

    A single company's records are accessed without authorization.

  2. Step 2

    Personal information is exposed

    Some categories can be changed afterward. Others, like a name or date of birth, can't.

  3. Step 3

    It may remain accessible

    Copies of breached data can persist well beyond the original incident.

  4. Step 4

    Sources can be combined

    Fragments from different breaches and public sources may be assembled into a fuller profile.

  5. Step 5

    More targeted attempts

    A fuller profile can make fraud, impersonation, phishing, or social engineering attempts more convincing.

A breach is an event. Exposure can last longer.

A password can be reset and a card reissued. Some information can't be replaced, and that is the part that stays useful to someone attempting fraud later. This does not mean fraud will occur. It means the risk does not close when the news cycle does.

Involved in this breach and hard to change

NameMay have been exposed
Social Security numberMay have been exposed

What Frontline Education has done so far

Only actions the company has announced or that are documented in the sources below. If something you'd expect to see isn't here, it hasn't been announced as of the last update.

Sources

Primary sources first: company disclosures, regulator and attorney general filings, SEC filings, court documents. News reporting is listed as secondary. Where reports conflict, the conflict is noted in the "What happened" section rather than resolved silently.

Primary 01
Frontline Education · October 26, 2026
Primary 02
Frontline Education · October 26, 2026
Secondary 03
Office of the California Attorney General · October 26, 2026
Secondary 04
Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation · October 2026
Secondary 05
Office of the Vermont Attorney General · October 27, 2026

Last updated October 28, 2026 · First published October 28, 2026

Questions about the Frontline Education breach

Frontline Education, a K-12 school administration software provider based in Wayne, Pennsylvania, began mailing notice letters dated October 26, 2026 to people whose information it processes for school districts. The California Attorney General posted Frontline's sample letter on October 26, 2026, the Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs posted it as letter 2026-1860, and Vermont's Attorney General Security Breach Notices table lists Frontline on October 27, 2026 with 2,985 Vermont residents and Social Security numbers.

The company has not disclosed how many people were affected. Frontline has not published a national total. Vermont's table lists 2,985 Vermont residents (October 27, 2026); that is a Vermont-only count, not a national total.

Unauthorized access is reported to have occurred Beginning August 14, 2026.

The company says it discovered the breach on August 14, 2026. It disclosed the incident publicly on October 26, 2026.

The company has not confirmed which categories were exposed. May have been exposed: Name, Social Security number. See the full list with status labels above.

The most reliable way is a notice from Frontline Education itself. Mailing letters dated October 26, 2026; call center 1-800-759-7279. Be cautious of unsolicited messages claiming to confirm you were affected; verify through a contact method you already have.

Start with the checklist above: follow the company's instructions, watch for phishing that references the breach, monitor the affected accounts, and consider a credit freeze if identifiers like a Social Security number are confirmed involved.

Mailing letters dated October 26, 2026; call center 1-800-759-7279.

Yes. Information that can't be changed, such as a name, date of birth, or Social Security number, can remain useful for fraud attempts long after the incident. That is a general risk, not a statement that data from this breach has been used.

AI Protection is an identity protection service that includes identity monitoring, removal of exposed information, restoration support, up to $5m in identity theft insurance per person, social media monitoring. It is independent of Frontline Education and cannot reverse a breach.

Take control of what happens next.

Monitoring for misuse of your information, alerts when something changes, and a real person to call if something goes wrong. Plans from $7 per month. Cancel anytime.