Skip to content
AI Protection
Free
Start with what’s already out there

We’ll show you your exposure before you pay anything.

Run a free scan

Run free scans

Data broker scan See which data brokers list your personal info All free tools
Family Safe Phrase

The card families use to shut down voice-clone calls.

Get the card

Breaches we’re tracking

What was exposed in each one, and what to do next.

All tracked breaches
No letter, but worried?

Enter your email and we’ll tell you which breaches include you.

Check my email
Scams in your state

The local patterns, the agencies to call, and printable posters.

Pick your state
Data Breach / Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice · Updated September 21, 2026 Independent coverage, not a communication from Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice

Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice Data Breach: What Happened and What You Should Do

Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice disclosed a data breach affecting an unconfirmed number of people. Here's what is currently known about the incident, what information may have been exposed, and steps you can consider taking.

Contained per company; patient notification / credit-monitoring offer underway Sources listed below
Breach snapshotUpdated September 21, 2026
Company
Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice
People affected
Undisclosed

The company's HIPAA media notice says some patients' personal and health information may have been affected. It does not state a headcount.

Incident date
June 5, 2026 – July 24, 2026
Discovered
July 21, 2026
Disclosed
September 19, 2026
Information exposed
Possibly: Name, Physical address, Date of birth, Social Security number, Health information
Status
Contained per company; patient notification / credit-monitoring offer underway

Account disabled; scope confirmed with WellSky; Houston PD notified; credit monitoring offered through company contact.

What happened in the Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice breach?

How the attacker got in

Compromised credentials for a single clinical user account in the WellSky EMR platform, per Doctor's Choice's September 19, 2026 notice.

Timeline of what is known

  1. 01June 5, 2026 – July 24, 2026Unauthorized access
  2. 02July 21, 2026Breach discovered
  3. 03September 19, 2026Breach disclosed publicly
  4. 04September 19, 2026Affected individuals notified

Dates come from the sources listed at the bottom of this page. Separate events are kept separate; where a date has not been disclosed, it says so.

What information was exposed?

The categories below come from Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice's disclosure and the sources listed on this page. Each is labeled by what the evidence supports. Categories not mentioned in any source are not listed, even if they are common in similar breaches.

Exposed May have been exposed Access not confirmed

Name

Company notice: demographic information such as name.

May have been exposed

Physical address

Company notice: address among demographic information.

May have been exposed

Date of birth

Company notice: date of birth among demographic information.

May have been exposed

Social Security number

Company notice: Social Security number.

May have been exposed

Health information

Company notice: scheduling information and clinical/treatment information.

May have been exposed

Why this information matters

The risks below are the ones associated with the categories of information involved in this breach. This describes how exposed information can be used in general. It does not state that any of this has happened with data from this incident.

Information from one breach can sometimes be combined with information from other breaches or public sources. A name and email address on their own are limited. Paired with a date of birth from one leak and an address from a people-search site, they become enough to answer a security question or make a scam call sound informed.

Whether the data from this breach has been sold, shared, or used is not known unless a source on this page says so. Where that is documented, it appears in the "What happened" section above.

If you were affected, consider doing these things now

Practical steps for this breach, in rough order of priority. None of these require buying anything. Monitoring services, including ours, are one option among several.

  1. 01Follow the instructions in any Doctor's Choice notice you receive, including credit-monitoring enrollment steps.
  2. 02Contact Kristin Glover, Chief Compliance Officer and Privacy Officer, at (833) 365-2464 or 13100 Northwest Fwy, Ste 410, Houston, TX 77040 for the company's credit-monitoring offer and questions.
  3. 03Review explanation-of-benefits statements and medical bills; report unfamiliar items to your health plan or provider.
  4. 04Monitor for unauthorized or suspicious activity.
  5. 05Be cautious of unsolicited calls, emails, or letters requesting personal information that reference Doctor's Choice, WellSky, or home-health care.
  6. 06Report signs of identity theft to the FTC at identitytheft.gov or 1-877-438-4338.
  7. 07Consider placing a fraud alert and, if concerned, a security freeze with each major credit bureau.
  8. 08Check your credit reports at annualcreditreport.com.

AI Protection

Monitoring, alerts, and recovery help for what comes after a breach.

A breach puts information you can't take back into circulation. AI Protection watches for it being misused, alerts you when something changes, and helps you recover if something goes wrong. It cannot undo the breach or retrieve data an attacker already holds.

Get AI Protection Plans from $7 per month. Cancel anytime.

How one breach can contribute to a larger exposure footprint

A possible risk pattern, not a description of this incident. Each step is something that can happen after a breach. Nothing here states that it has happened with data from this incident.

Illustrative pattern
  1. Step 1

    One breach

    A single company's records are accessed without authorization.

  2. Step 2

    Personal information is exposed

    Some categories can be changed afterward. Others, like a name or date of birth, can't.

  3. Step 3

    It may remain accessible

    Copies of breached data can persist well beyond the original incident.

  4. Step 4

    Sources can be combined

    Fragments from different breaches and public sources may be assembled into a fuller profile.

  5. Step 5

    More targeted attempts

    A fuller profile can make fraud, impersonation, phishing, or social engineering attempts more convincing.

A breach is an event. Exposure can last longer.

A password can be reset and a card reissued. Some information can't be replaced, and that is the part that stays useful to someone attempting fraud later. This does not mean fraud will occur. It means the risk does not close when the news cycle does.

Involved in this breach and hard to change

NameMay have been exposed
Physical addressMay have been exposed
Date of birthMay have been exposed
Social Security numberMay have been exposed
Health informationMay have been exposed

What Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice has done so far

Only actions the company has announced or that are documented in the sources below. If something you'd expect to see isn't here, it hasn't been announced as of the last update.

Sources

Primary sources first: company disclosures, regulator and attorney general filings, SEC filings, court documents. News reporting is listed as secondary. Where reports conflict, the conflict is noted in the "What happened" section rather than resolved silently.

Primary 01
EIN Presswire / Doctor's Choice · September 19, 2026

Last updated September 21, 2026 · First published September 21, 2026

Questions about the Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice breach

Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice, a Texas home-health and hospice provider (eight locations across northern and eastern Texas), published a September 19, 2026 HIPAA notice of a data security incident that may have affected some patients' personal and health information.

The company has not disclosed how many people were affected. The company's HIPAA media notice says some patients' personal and health information may have been affected. It does not state a headcount.

Unauthorized access is reported to have occurred June 5, 2026 – July 24, 2026.

The company says it discovered the breach on July 21, 2026. It disclosed the incident publicly on September 19, 2026.

The company has not confirmed which categories were exposed. May have been exposed: Name, Physical address, Date of birth, Social Security number, Health information. See the full list with status labels above.

The most reliable way is a notice from Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice itself. The company has not said how or when it will notify affected individuals. Be cautious of unsolicited messages claiming to confirm you were affected; verify through a contact method you already have.

Start with the checklist above: follow the company's instructions, watch for phishing that references the breach, monitor the affected accounts, and consider a credit freeze if identifiers like a Social Security number are confirmed involved.

The company reports notifying affected individuals September 19, 2026.

Yes. Information that can't be changed, such as a name, date of birth, or Social Security number, can remain useful for fraud attempts long after the incident. That is a general risk, not a statement that data from this breach has been used.

AI Protection is an identity protection service that includes identity monitoring, removal of exposed information, restoration support, up to $5m in identity theft insurance per person, social media monitoring. It is independent of Doctor's Choice Home Care & Hospice and cannot reverse a breach.

Take control of what happens next.

Monitoring for misuse of your information, alerts when something changes, and a real person to call if something goes wrong. Plans from $7 per month. Cancel anytime.