Skip to content
AI Protection
Free
Start with what’s already out there

We’ll show you your exposure before you pay anything.

Run a free scan

Run free scans

Data broker scan See which data brokers list your personal info All free tools
Family Safe Phrase

The card families use to shut down voice-clone calls.

Get the card

Breaches we’re tracking

What was exposed in each one, and what to do next.

All tracked breaches
No letter, but worried?

Enter your email and we’ll tell you which breaches include you.

Check my email
Scams in your state

The local patterns, the agencies to call, and printable posters.

Pick your state
Data Breach / Catalyst Brands · Updated September 9, 2026 Independent coverage, not a communication from Catalyst Brands

Catalyst Brands Data Breach: What Happened and What You Should Do

Catalyst Brands disclosed a data breach affecting an unconfirmed number of people. Here's what is currently known about the incident, what information may have been exposed, and steps you can consider taking.

Contained / notifications sent Sources listed below
Breach snapshotUpdated September 9, 2026
Company
Catalyst Brands
People affected
Not disclosed

Catalyst Brands has not published a nationwide count. The California Attorney General listing and sample notice do not state how many people were affected.

Incident date
On or around May 20, 2026
Discovered
On or around May 26, 2026
Disclosed
September 4, 2026
Information exposed
Name, Social Security number, Date of birth, Government identification, Financial information, Account credentials, Other personal information · possibly phone number, physical address, email address, employment information
Status
Contained / notifications sent

Catalyst Brands says it blocked unauthorized access, notified law enforcement, enhanced safeguards, and is offering two years of Experian identity protection and credit monitoring.

What happened in the Catalyst Brands breach?

How the attacker got in

Unauthorized access to servers managed by an unnamed third party that supports Catalyst Brands HR and payroll-related services, per the company's notice.

Timeline of what is known

  1. 01On or around May 20, 2026Unauthorized access
  2. 02On or around May 26, 2026Breach discovered
  3. 03September 4, 2026Breach disclosed publicly
  4. 04September 4, 2026Affected individuals notified

Dates come from the sources listed at the bottom of this page. Separate events are kept separate; where a date has not been disclosed, it says so.

What information was exposed?

The categories below come from Catalyst Brands's disclosure and the sources listed on this page. Each is labeled by what the evidence supports. Categories not mentioned in any source are not listed, even if they are common in similar breaches.

Exposed May have been exposed Access not confirmed

Name

Exposed

Social Security number

Exposed

Date of birth

Exposed

Government identification

Driver's license, passport, Alien Registration number (A-number), U.S. military ID, or other government-issued ID — varied by individual.

Exposed

Phone number

Notice lists "contact information" without splitting phone vs. address.

May have been exposed

Physical address

Included under contact information in the notice; not separately itemized.

May have been exposed

Email address

Notice lists email or username with password or security answer among possible fields.

May have been exposed

Financial information

Financial account number without access information.

Exposed

Account credentials

Email or username with password or security answer, per the notice.

Exposed

Other personal information

Digital signature.

Exposed

Employment information

Incident involved HR and payroll-related servers; workforce data is the context of the notice.

May have been exposed

Why this information matters

The risks below are the ones associated with the categories of information involved in this breach. This describes how exposed information can be used in general. It does not state that any of this has happened with data from this incident.

Information from one breach can sometimes be combined with information from other breaches or public sources. A name and email address on their own are limited. Paired with a date of birth from one leak and an address from a people-search site, they become enough to answer a security question or make a scam call sound informed.

Whether the data from this breach has been sold, shared, or used is not known unless a source on this page says so. Where that is documented, it appears in the "What happened" section above.

If you were affected, consider doing these things now

Practical steps for this breach, in rough order of priority. None of these require buying anything. Monitoring services, including ours, are one option among several.

  1. 01Follow the instructions in the Catalyst Brands notice if you received one, including any Experian enrollment steps and engagement number.
  2. 02Watch for phishing that references Catalyst Brands, JCPenney, Brooks Brothers, or this payroll incident.
  3. 03Verify any call or email claiming to be from Catalyst Brands by using the phone number in your written notice (833-918-1023) or another number you already have.
  4. 04Because Social Security numbers and government IDs may be involved, consider a credit freeze with each of the three major credit bureaus.
  5. 05If a password or security answer may have been exposed, change that password everywhere you reused it and update security questions.
  6. 06Review financial account statements for activity you do not recognize.
  7. 07Check your credit reports at the free annual site.
  8. 08Consider a personal information monitoring service.

AI Protection

Monitoring, alerts, and recovery help for what comes after a breach.

A breach puts information you can't take back into circulation. AI Protection watches for it being misused, alerts you when something changes, and helps you recover if something goes wrong. It cannot undo the breach or retrieve data an attacker already holds.

Get AI Protection Plans from $7 per month. Cancel anytime.

How one breach can contribute to a larger exposure footprint

A possible risk pattern, not a description of this incident. Each step is something that can happen after a breach. Nothing here states that it has happened with data from this incident.

Illustrative pattern
  1. Step 1

    One breach

    A single company's records are accessed without authorization.

  2. Step 2

    Personal information is exposed

    Some categories can be changed afterward. Others, like a name or date of birth, can't.

  3. Step 3

    It may remain accessible

    Copies of breached data can persist well beyond the original incident.

  4. Step 4

    Sources can be combined

    Fragments from different breaches and public sources may be assembled into a fuller profile.

  5. Step 5

    More targeted attempts

    A fuller profile can make fraud, impersonation, phishing, or social engineering attempts more convincing.

A breach is an event. Exposure can last longer.

A password can be reset and a card reissued. Some information can't be replaced, and that is the part that stays useful to someone attempting fraud later. This does not mean fraud will occur. It means the risk does not close when the news cycle does.

Involved in this breach and hard to change

NameExposed
Social Security numberExposed
Date of birthExposed
Government identificationExposed
Physical addressMay have been exposed

What Catalyst Brands has done so far

Only actions the company has announced or that are documented in the sources below. If something you'd expect to see isn't here, it hasn't been announced as of the last update.

Sources

Primary sources first: company disclosures, regulator and attorney general filings, SEC filings, court documents. News reporting is listed as secondary. Where reports conflict, the conflict is noted in the "What happened" section rather than resolved silently.

Primary 01
California Attorney General breach portal · September 4, 2026
Primary 02
California Attorney General · September 4, 2026
Primary 03
South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs · September 4, 2026

Last updated September 9, 2026 · First published September 9, 2026

Questions about the Catalyst Brands breach

Catalyst Brands LLC — the retail holding company behind JCPenney, Brooks Brothers, Aéropostale, Eddie Bauer, Lucky Brand, and Nautica — mailed Notices of Data Breach dated September 4, 2026, and filed a sample with the California Attorney General the same day.

The company has not disclosed how many people were affected. Catalyst Brands has not published a nationwide count. The California Attorney General listing and sample notice do not state how many people were affected.

Unauthorized access is reported to have occurred On or around May 20, 2026.

The company says it discovered the breach on On or around May 26, 2026. It disclosed the incident publicly on September 4, 2026.

Confirmed exposed: Name, Social Security number, Date of birth, Government identification, Financial information, Account credentials, Other personal information. May have been exposed: Phone number, Physical address, Email address, Employment information. See the full list with status labels above.

The most reliable way is a notice from Catalyst Brands itself. Notices dated September 4, 2026; CA AG sample filed the same day. Be cautious of unsolicited messages claiming to confirm you were affected; verify through a contact method you already have.

Start with the checklist above: follow the company's instructions, watch for phishing that references the breach, monitor the affected accounts, and consider a credit freeze if identifiers like a Social Security number are confirmed involved.

Notices dated September 4, 2026; CA AG sample filed the same day.

Yes. Information that can't be changed, such as a name, date of birth, or Social Security number, can remain useful for fraud attempts long after the incident. That is a general risk, not a statement that data from this breach has been used.

AI Protection is an identity protection service that includes identity monitoring, removal of exposed information, restoration support, up to $5m in identity theft insurance per person, social media monitoring. It is independent of Catalyst Brands and cannot reverse a breach.

Take control of what happens next.

Monitoring for misuse of your information, alerts when something changes, and a real person to call if something goes wrong. Plans from $7 per month. Cancel anytime.